2016 Golden Globes best dressed picks

Ladies only, of course. I’m not about to judge a line up of strikingly similar suits. When men start branching out on colors and textures, I’ll be there for it. But as of right now, it’s 2016, and men’s fashion is still basically no fun.

Oh how I love that my birthday week and the Golden Globes so often overlap! I’m doing a Whole30 (restrictive paleo diet meant to restart your system if you suffer from any autoimmune diseases or systemic inflation, among other things), so my “birthday week” hasn’t felt very celebratory. No donuts. No Starbucks. No CAKE. NO ALCOHOL. Thinking about these things can really bum me out, but remembering that Brett and I have made delicious homemade dinners every night for ten days is happiness. We’re like, living in the 50s or something.

Anyway. I put my hope in the red carpet for a pick-me-up, and the ladies did not disappoint. 2016 looks like it could be the year of bold, bright colors – people might finally be moving away from neutrals and Marsala! Neutrals and Marsala are still my fave, but let’s keep the red carpet exciting, shall we? I look at my top ten picks (along with some that didn’t make the cut – I’m looking at you Jada Pinket Smith and Lilliana Vazquez) and see a line up of delicious colors. It’s as if my eyes could eat and they’re a bowl of jellybeans.

…and on that note:

10. Kate Bosworth

10 Kate Bosworth 1

She really brought it with the sparkles. You know how much I appreciate that.

9. Jennifer Lawrence

The slits on the sides are a little too gaping and a little too much. If not for those, she probably would have been higher on the list. I think this is one of her favorite colors to wear, because it isn’t the first time she’s stepped out in this bright orangey-red hue. I love her matching lip and the choker necklace this simple dress needed.

8. Gina Rodriguez

Ok, don’t be mad at me that she’s only number 8. It’s okay! This ranking thing is really hard sometimes! It’s only because it’s navy. It’s navy and it’s beautiful, but everyone else showed up sparkly or bright, so there you go. You look very nice, Gina.

7. Helen Mirren

People bow down to Meryl Streep, and for good reason, but I want to draw your attention to the wonderful elegant fairy queen that is Helen Mirren. Just. Look at her doing her little twirly thing. She IS poise. Look at her holding her neck up with all those diamonds hanging on it! How?

6. Zendaya

Okay, so this one is Marsala, but what was I to do in the face of Zendaya? She slays. Every time.

 

5. Taraji P. Henson

I haven’t watched Empire yet, but after last night I’m even more excited to, because Taraji P. Henson seems like my kind of person. Her acceptance speech was one part normal acceptance speech, two parts adorable, and three parts sass. Her dress is great, but I really like the whole thing put together. Her earrings topped it all off, and that awkward picture of her with her mouth open is the best one I could find of them. They were all emerald and glinting in the lights, set off against her white dress. It was lovely.

4. Melissa Benoist

When Melissa stepped out to present, I immediately loved this simpler dress. The high slit was so nice and drapey when she moved (as opposed to whoaa-watch-your-step-or-you’re-gonna-flash-someone). Her makeup, hair, and soft-colored accessories go with the girl-next-door ambiance that’s been working for her since Glee.

3. Jennifer Lopez

6 Jennifer Lopez 1

Speaking of slits and accessories, J-Lo is the va-va-Voom version of Benoist’s ensemble. Bling and bright, with a cape AND a train. How does this all work for you, J-Lo? How did you do it? You’re so calm about it! If I was on the red carpet pulling off this whole deal, I’d be grinning like a doofus. Look at her nails! Who wears mustard yellow and still looks that fierce?!

2. Alicia Vikander

It’s perfect. Look how it moves! It’s girly and youthful and beautiful and it twirls.

 

 

 

1. Viola Davis

Viola Davis looked like my dream version of Cinderella’s fairy godmother. I’ll just leave it at that so you don’t have to read more words and can spend more time looking at these pictures of her. Better yet, go find a video of her from Sunday night – it’s better “in person”. You have to watch it sparkle.

Who was your best dressed pick? Would love to hear your opinions on fashion, especially if you’re as oblivious to high fashion as me!

Leave a Reply

