Read with me: One Thousand Gifts

I was a total bookworm as a kid. Homeschooling was kind of bad for me, because I spent most of my time reading library books in my room and didn’t start my school work until 8 o’clock at night sometimes. But during and after college, I stopped enjoying reading. Textbooks and Christian self-help books did me in. Reading became about learning and being told how to live my life instead of for enjoyment. I went through periods of starting handfuls of books at a time and never finishing them, or reading Harry Potter over and over again (not saying there’s anything wrong with that). So two summers ago, I started a book club, and it was so much fun. We read only novels and fun memoirs, and I began to love reading again. And there was an added bonus of bringing together women from all different parts of my life – church friends, high school friends, college friends… It was really me-centric, but I think everyone involved enjoyed it. After a brief hiatus, our book club is coming together again to read One Thousand Gifts, by Ann Voskamp. I am very excited to announce that this blog is launching and expanding that book club to you!

8592946 (1)

We will be reading One Thousand Gifts from October 23-November 24. If you live in the Columbus, OH area, we’ll be meeting at the Easton Barnes & Noble cafe three times throughout the month (details below), and would love for you to join us! Look up the book on Amazon or Goodreads to see if you might be interested. I’m not quite sure what to expect, but I know it’s about counting your blessings (though Ann seems very real – she’s not going to sugar coat anything). I’ll also be posting about the book weekly as I read, and we can swap stories in the comments section. I’m so excited to tune into thankfulness this fall. Many Thursday Thankfulness parties to come!
*Book discussions will be at the Easton Barnes & Noble cafe:

Tuesday, November 3rd at 7pm (chapters 1-4)

Sunday, November 8 at 4pm (chapters 5-7)

Tuesday, November 24 at 7pm (chapters 8-11)

Tell me if you are able to make it so I can grab enough chairs!

Leave a Reply

