My favorites: 2015 Emmys Red Carpet

I looked at my blog for the first time in months, and was shocked to see that my last post was from more than a year ago. How could that be? I haven’t gone a year without blogging in a long time! I investigated further and found twelve – twelve – posts in drafts. Clearly this has been a year of too much thinking, not enough resolution. Very, very true. As a result, the only thing I’m prepared to share with you today is a bit of fluff. Glitzy, glamorous fluff. But that’s OK. What’s a blog for if not to share my favorite things? Here are my top ten best dressed from Sunday night’s red carpet. (Get ready for exaggerated excitement to make up for my lack of fashion knowledge.)

10. Samira Wiley

10 samira wiley

I wasn’t expecting this caped style from this OITNB star, but I’m diggin’ it. Thanks for bringing bright pink to the red carpet, Samira.

9. Jamie Lee Curtis

9 jamie lee curtis

I hope to look as good as Jamie Lee Curtis when I’m fifty-six… or twenty-six. Can a woman be a silver fox? I’ve decided a woman could, if that woman is Jamie Lee Curtis.

8. Kristen Schaal

8 kristen schall

I love seeing comedic women all dressed up. They look like real people having a great time in fancy clothes, instead of ethereal goddesses stepping foot to earth for the first time. It’s like their whole point is to say, I’m a real person, just like you. Not these other people though. They are beautiful aliens. Kristen Schaal looks amazing in what I think is her best red-carpet moment yet. And she gets props for wearing my favorite color at the moment: indigo.

7. Kiernan Shipka

7 kiernan shipka

Kiernan is fifteen, and yet manages to upstage her costars with her personal style all the time. I’m a huge Man Men fan, and I love January Jones and Jessica Pare especially, but I can’t deny that this child knows how to dress herself better than most adults. She just has flair. I especially like the color and the neckline of this dress. And her eyebrows. #onfleek

6. Aubrey Plaza

4 aubrey plaza

Sass personified, Aubrey Plaza’s teasy low-V/high slit combo suits her perfectly. Aubrey is famous for her straight-faced comedy, and it’s almost like the seriousness of this dress, her straight bob, her dead stare, her black fingernails, were all intended to make us think, Are you funny or are you evil?, much as her character on Parks and Rec does. Either way, I love minimalist style, which is probably why this gown made it to my top ten.

5. Gwendoline Christie

5 gwendoline-christie

Before I go any further, let’s just have a round of applause for Game of Thrones. They won a record-breaking twelve Emmys in one night, and their team somehow has the ability to transform this goddess into the notoriously ugly Brienne of Tarth. It must be fun to play a character like that and then get to show up to red carpet events like, Yeah, you didn’t see that coming did you? Watch me own the room. I am tall and strong and quite possibly the most beautiful woman here. You go, you tall, mighty woman, you.

4. Lady Gaga

6 lady gaga

I know that saying this is going to make little monsters all over the world think I’m against everything they stand for, but I love toned-down Lady Gaga. My argument: who wouldn’t take this look over a meat dress any day? It has just a hit of Gaga weirdness with the asymmetrical hip, but she is overall a glamorous Hollywood starlet.

3. Maggie Gyllenhal

attends the 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 20, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.

LOS ANGELES, CA - SEPTEMBER 20: Maggie Gyllenhaal arrives at the 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 20, 2015 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage)

LOS ANGELES, CA – SEPTEMBER 20: Maggie Gyllenhaal arrives at the 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 20, 2015 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage)

This one requires two pictures. It was obvious that Maggie was digging her look and feeling confident, and for good reason. This is possibly the definitive *best* gown of the night, and she only comes in third on my list because of personal opinion. She looks amazing. The red carpet was crowded, as per usual, with mermaid-style, form-fitting dresses, but whyyyy go that route when you could wear this full-skirted, color blocked gown instead? Or, for that matter…

2. Teyonah Parris

2 teyonah parris

attends the 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 20, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.

THIS number, overflowing with polka dots and fabric and pizzazz?! Tyonah Parris did what everyone should do on the red carpet, in my humble opinion: she opted for fun. Clearly she has no regrets. Plus, when the show is over, this could probably sub as a very cozy blanket for the plane ride home.

1. Maisie Williams

1 maisie williams

My favorite look of the night (sometimes you just know), Maisie is the second Game of Thrones star on my list and the second teenager. What does that say about me? Let’s not go there. I am an adult and I don’t dress like a teen, I swear. Let’s just analyze this look, from top to bottom.
Hair: Glamorous Hollywood waves
Makeup game: Age appropriate and EYEBROWS.
Gown: Pink! The fit and cut is age appropriate (modest), which is important for her. The cut and fabric are modern and pretty, with some edgy angles at the pockets. She is all grown-up, sophisticated, and pretty. And then…
Shoes: The shoes! THE SHOES! Arya Stark is wearing a slipper/heel hybrid, and it’s blowing my mind. Who but her could pull this off? And with what other outfit? This is a case of a first-place win because I cannot imagine those shoes being pulled off on anyone else’s feet in any other situation, with any other look. She just makes it happen.

So what do you think? Am I out of my mind? What was your favorite look of the night? And most importantly, what do you think of the shoes?

Leave a Reply

