Favorites from the Met Ball Red Carpet

Remember this post, when I shared my favorite fashion picks from the Golden Globes red carpet? I had a lot of fun doing it, and it made me feel good to post something during a busy time when I didn’t have a chance to write something substantial. Like I said before, I’m not a fashion expert. I just like what I like. So here are my favorite looks from celebrities at last night’s Met Ball.

10. Blake Lively

10_BlakeLively2 10_BlakeLivelyBlake Lively’s dress was beautiful, and it might have been my number one choice a few years ago, but at this point I’m a little bored of seeing dresses on the beige/nude scale. But I LOVE the glam her makeup and hairstyle add to this sparkly dress. She looks like a freaking goddess. Also, hooray for happy couples!

9. Victoria Beckham

9_VictoriaBeckhamSpeaking of happy couples, number nine on my list is Mrs. David Beckham. In the absence of Kerry Washington, the event was severely lacking a touch of Olivia Pope-ness, that is until Posh Spice got there (she’s come a long way). I like this crisp, clean, beautifully structured gown in much the same way as I loved Lupita Noyango’s red gown from the Golden Globes – though this really could never top that.

8. Claire Danes

"Charles James: Beyond Fashion" Costume Institute Gala - ArrivalsI didn’t even notice until just now that the top of her dress is actually burgundy velvet, which only makes me love it even more. I think she looks perfectly classy and lovely, from her loose undo to her point-toed shoes. I like the plain structure of the top of the dress paired with the draping of the bottom. And those two fabrics together! I just can’t find anything wrong with this.

7. Jessica Paré

7_JessicaPareI‘ll admit I might be blinded by my  newfound love for Jessica Paré since I started watching Mad Men this year. Megan Draper is my girl! I was kinda hoping to see something flowy with bell sleeves or bright psychedelic colors on her, but I should probably let that go and recognize her as an actual person. She’s near the middle of my list because I totally grazed over her look when I first saw it, but it grew on me. I looked at it again and really liked it. I like her choices in the matching clutch and bracelets all topped off with a red lip. Somehow she looks young and fun as well as elegant and sophisticated in this dress. So Megan.

6. Dakota Johnson

2_Dakota JohnsonOkay, so if I was her stylist, I’d, give her a big, fat, shiny choker, put her hair up, and take away those black gloves. You’re wearing a navy dress, girlfriend. But as for the navy dress… I really like it. The flattering silhouette stands out in the lineup of a-line and mermaid dresses. The silvery top and full bottom are both on trend, and on top of that it even looks… comfortable? If I was going to the Met Ball, this is a dress I would want to wear.

5. Reese Witherspoon

5_ReeseWitherspoonAs I was looking through pictures, it was so nice to finally see a color! This made my list because of that and the unique neckline. I also love the short train. The dress simple, but it stands out, and who better to pull off this bold color than Reese? Elle Woods forever. #BendAndSnap

4. Lily Aldridge

"Charles James: Beyond Fashion" Costume Institute Gala - Arrivalsenhanced-7492-1399389119-7It looks like someone spun silver silk directly onto her body and made a dress. It looks like water in moonlight. Or a space blanket. This dress is obviously a stand-out piece that should be worn on any and every occasion. Her natural makeup just makes her look even more beautiful (must be a VS model thing), and that choker wins my best accessory award. Hands down.

3. Rihanna

3_Rihanna2 3_RihannaI‘m not even crazy about the open back, and this is still number three on my list. It has just the right amount of shoulder pad, sleeves, choker neck, train, and cut out (RiRi’s obviously been doing some crunches). She didn’t need anything to add to the drama of this dress except some sparkly chunky rings and a crazy updo that looks like a 90s prom hairstyle after sleeping on it (in the best way possible). Plus, serious makeup game. Perfectly pink lip.

2. Karolina Kurkova

6_KarolinaKurkovaI want to make this into a duvet cover, and I don’t mean that in a bad way. It looks amazing as a dress too. LOOK AT THOSE FLOWERS. You all know how I am about flowers (or maybe you don’t?). This is a whole new level of floral print, and I hope to see more like this in the future! That’s really all I have to say… FLOWERS!

1. Emma Stone

1_EmmaStone4 1_EmmaStone3 1_EmmaStone2This might seem like a simple choice after the awesome drama of some of the other ones, but I like everything about it. Pink on pink. Two pieces, yet still a gown and so appropriate for the event. The hair. The makeup. The fact that Spider-man was her date… There were lots of two-piece getups at the Met Ball, but Emma’s was the best and the classiest. I’ve always loved Emma’s underrated girl-next door vibe, and she kind of plays that up here wit her hair and makeup choices, but her gown is like, “Look at me! I am pink! And I’m touching this red carpet and I don’t even care!” I just love her.

So there’s my top ten favorite fashion choices from this year’s Met Ball. I have them ranked, but I still find myself going back and forth with some of them. And those may be my favorite dresses for the event, but as far as I’m concerned, in the grand scheme of things, Kirsten Dunst won the whole thing.

Kirsten Dunst2May the Force be with you.

What were your favorite fashion choices from the Met Ball?

Leave a Reply

