2014: To Achieve

Goals. When you write them down, they are 40% more attainable. I made that up. But ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!

Brett and I took a few days to think about what our goals should be, and I have to say I’m pretty excited. I think we did a good job this year of choosing things that we actually want to do, as well as things that we think are necessary. Every one of our goals will help us achieve higher aspirations of growing closer together, growing closer to God, and getting closer to paying off student debt so we can say sayonara to the United States.

That being said, we made a lot of goals. Hopefully we will be able to stick to most of them, but we lean heavily on the grace thing – even toward ourselves. I was reading Today’s Letters (that blog I really like), and they shared how they organize their resolutions, so we pretty much copied them (omitting a few). Anyway, here goes.

Hanna’s Individual Goals
Spiritual:
Finish the One-Year Bible I’ve been reading for four years. (My pace is fine, my consistency is not.) Also to blog more. I don’t know how this is spiritual; I just have a feeling that it is.
Physical:
Run a 5k (or a few), go to the gym at least 3x a week
Relational:
Be very selective with what I post and say on facebook (this is relational for many reasons)
Professional:
Do wedding flowers for one non-family member or friend (aka: actually make commission on it)

Brett’s Individual Goals
Spiritual:
Spend time with the Lord every day (Scripture, prayer, or a theological book)
Physical:
Run a half marathon
Relational:
Do something unexpected for Hanna every month; have deeper conversations with men in my life

Our Marital Goals
Spiritual:
Go on a short-term missions trip together
Physical:
A #yearofno  (<- great read) resolution to say no to some of the unhealthy habits we fell into in our first year of marriage. We’re going to get back to our pre-wedding bodies (or better) using the “just say no” policy!
Relational:
Read 1 book a month of the others choosing (Just so you are aware, Brett is reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and I am reading a graphic novel. Who’s surprised? Not me.)
Financial:
Pay off 1 student loan before tax returns; pay off another student loan with tax return money

When we were seriously pondering what to make our goals, we realized we have a few other big things happening that we need to pray over before we act. Why is that so hard? I feel like patience and waiting on Him are things God has been teaching me for a whole year. I’m learning to be content with where I am, but I’m also being forced to. In things where I’m not forced to be patient, I still often act before waiting to hear His will or even asking for His opinion.

I’m impulsive, impatient, and sometimes I just don’t care.

Hoping this year that it gets easier to hear His voice.

1524985_10152079985404318_1850860754_n

Ringing in the New Year at our murder mystery party!

One thought on “2014: To Achieve

  1. […] you may recall (either from this earlier blog post or from me talking excitedly about it for all of 2014 so far) one of Brett and […]

Leave a Reply

