“He is no fool who gives up what he cannot keep…”

The internet is out at our apartment, so this is the best I can do for a post today. It’s going to be really unedited and stuff.

I’m spending my time without the internet with this book:

Revolution in World Missions, by K.P. Yahannan

Revolution in World Missions, by K.P. Yahannan

It’s fantastic, and everyone should read it. Even if you’re not interested in missions. You can even get the book for free here.

For a long time, I’ve wanted to be a missionary overseas. And I’ve been getting very discouraged with my life because right now there are all these circumstances keeping me from moving to some foreign country and helping people. I realize there’s a reason for these circumstances, and that God wants me to learn very valuable things while I’m waiting. Or it’s possible that He’s taking my life in a completely different direction than what I have imagined.

Anyway, my point was going to be that even though I’ve wanted to be a missionary for a while, have given to missionaries and missions organizations, consider myself more educated about missions than some other people, and have a strong tendency to read the Bible with a very missions-oriented perspective, this book is shaping my view of missions all over again. It’s so good that it’s making me scared to be a missionary, but still want to be a missionary more than anything. And it’s making me remember that it’s more important than anything.

The biggest thing I’ve been thinking about differently since reading Revolution in World Missions (at least the first ten chapters) is giving to missionaries. For some reason, I’ve never thought that giving to missionaries was as important as being a missionary myself. My thinking was probably just based off of what I really wanted to do. But it was wrong. I secretly felt that people who only gave to missionaries were coping out of going. They weren’t brave enough.

But now, since reading this book, I think that giving to missionaries might be the most important thing we could do. Not going. Because we happen to live here, in the “developed” world. We have more money at our disposal than the rest of the world, even though we might not feel like we do. And foreign missionaries need money. Here, we have stories of, “I trusted God, and He blessed me and gave me more than I could ever ask for.” Overseas, believer’s stories are like this instead: “I had everything, wealth, family, influence. Then I started proclaiming Christ, and I lost everything but Him.”

Maybe, because I live in the “First World” I’m meant to give rather than go. And I don’t know how I feel about that. Because I really want to GO. But maybe I’m supposed to give all I can, instead of trying to prepare to go. Maybe I shouldn’t even focus on paying off my student debt as quickly as possible, so that I have more money every month to support missionaries. It’s hard to think about. I want to go. I want to get out of here.

Lord, make my heart like yours. And don’t let me look down on giving over going. I am here for YOU. And You can use me however You want.

Leave a Reply

