My first journal entry

As you might have read in my last post, I’m reading my old journals over Christmas break (for reasons you’ll find in the earlier post). Though I decided to start in the middle, in high school, where I felt the wounds that acted as a catalyst to the lies I still struggle to un-believe, the journals date back to February 2002. I want to share with you my first-ever journal entry, because it’s written by an adorable eleven-year-old.

9:00 p.m. February 13, 2002
Dear Journal,

It’s the day before Valentine’s day. I’m thinking about that it takes a lot to love. Whether it’s a husband or wife, child, brother, sister, cousin, aunt, uncle, grandma, grandpa, or pet. Or all of them. It’s hard to love someone the way God does. I mean, how can a sinful person love someone so much as to die? It’s overwhelming! Love is such a strong word. Who can really explain what it is? The Bible says that God is love and He loves you. But how can you be love? The Bible also says that love is patient and kind, does not hate or want. Does that mean God’s all those things too? Amazing. God loved me enough He put me on earth and let me live eleven years and one month. He even made me perfect, except my sin. He gave me everything I have. Everything I need plus more. I wish I could write more, but I still have to make Mom and Dad a Valentine card. Bye!

– Hannah

Silly kid.

Leave a Reply

