My Psychology homework.

I had to write a one-page personal response to anything we’ve studied in class so far. No sweat, short paragraph stuff.
Writing this made me excited beyond words. (For those of you who were at the Missional Team Dinner, you know all the adjectives I made up that I obviously couldn’t put in writing. Just know that I wanted to.)

Here it is:

I remember studying for my first quiz in this Psychology class. It was Friday morning before the test, and I was doing last-minute cramming.  I was frustrated. My short term memory was not getting encoded to my long-term memory. At one point, I was trying to recall all the differences between the sympathetic and the parasympathetic parts of the PNS when I thought, My hippocampus must not be working. And from then on, it just clicked.

Studying the brain has probably been the most technical and least applicable part of what we’ve learned. What I mean is, knowing the parts of the brain and what they might do is all well and good, but I just let it work and go on with my daily life. But it was my favorite part of class because, if you take the time to think about it, it’s the coolest thing ever. I was excited to come to class during this section because I would sit there and be awed by the nervous system and its complexities and how on earth did this happen?

I already believe in God and that he created everything. Evolution may have helped a little, but I don’t think there’s any way the world could have come up with something like my brain all on its own. Because I believe in a Creator, studying the brain awed me. My own personal testimony or experience that I’m supposed to be writing about that relates to the class materials is simply this: I have a brain. There’s nothing super special about it. No one will want to study it after I’m dead; I’m pretty smart but not genius enough for anyone to cut me open and figure out my secrets. But just the simple fact that my five senses are at work with no help from me, and that I’m typing this and thinking it and comprehending it all at the same time makes me infinite times smarter than the best computer or robot. And because I believe in God, and hence believe that I was thought of, God seems all the more awesome to me because he put me together.

And I love the fact that there’s so much about the brain that scientists can’t figure out. Their own brains are too befuddling for their brains to understand, and I think that’s amazing. If we aren’t smart enough to figure ourselves out, there must be so much more that we don’t know and can’t understand, especially about God. God made me. Well, I made oatmeal this morning, and it probably has an equal shot at comprehending everything about me as I have of comprehending everything about God.

Uhm, yeah, can I just end that with about three million exclamation points?
(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

One thought on “My Psychology homework.

  1. Zoe Hafner says:

    And He knows the thoughts in our brains completely before they ever make it to our tounge. Ps 139

Leave a Reply

