“Something else.”

The movie Elizabethtown is one of my favorites. It’s very quotable, and there’s this quote, “If it wasn’t this, it would be something else.” That’s how trends are sometimes.

Today I was sitting with a group of friends and noticed an abundance of knock-offs. Fake Uggs and patterned cloth bags and several different types of moccasins littered the floor and adorned their feet.

Can I just say that if moccasins are the new thing that I fully approve? I have a pair – cheap, from Target – and they are the best thing that has ever happened to my feet.

So, this has let me to another question that I shall soon seek to answer: are knock-offs just as bad where conformity is concerned as the real deal? I’m guessing this will create some controversy. I can see the average girl who’s prideful of her unique style wearing some Ugg-like boots assuming she’s totally justified and not following a trend.

My own opinion is that everyone should just wear and own what they want and not be ashamed. Isn’t that our ultimate goal with everything we do? You could make it metaphorical for being comfortable with yourself as an individual. I would love to own some beautifully bright cloth bag. I would look at it in class when I don’t want to pay attention. But other people want that as well. There’s nothing I can do about it. What I question is how far does that stretch until people are owning things because they’re popular, regardless of what they think is their personal taste. The purpose of knock-offs is a decrease in price, as far as I see it, not an excuse to escape conformity.

One thought on ““Something else.”

  1. Molly says:

    Good points, and you are clear in stating this is YOUR opinion. However, I’m left wondering, What about OTHER opinions?

Leave a Reply

